You are here:

Western Regional Health Authority Profile

Demographic Profile

Regional Facilities

The Western Regional Health Authority (WRHA) provides healthcare to the population of Jamaica's Western Parishes via a network of four Hospitals and eighty-four Health Centres strategically deployed throughout the region. The four hospitals are:

Cornwall Regional Hospital (CRH) - Type A (St. James)
Savanna-la-mar Public General Hospital - Type B (Westmoreland)
Falmouth Public General Hospital - Type C (Trelawny)
Noel Holmes Public General Hospital - Type C (Hanover)

Governed by its Board of Directors, it has maintained the reputation of being the fore-runner in the provision of quality health care in the island.

Vision of the Region

Healthy Families Living in Healthy Communities

Mission of the Region

To provide quality preventative, curative and rehabilitative health care that is affordable, accessible and reliable to the population of the region under our control.

To provide and maintain facilities and conditions conducive to the promotion of health.

To attract, train, motivate and retain a high caliber of staff and to provide opportunities for the development of our employees to their fullest capabilities.

Regional Profile

The Western Regional Health Authority provides health-care through a network of four hospitals and eighty-four health centers. All health facilities are ranked based on the type and level of service which they provide.

Type A hospitals provide comprehensive secondary and tertiary health care services and are referral centers for hospitals both in the public and private health systems.

Type B hospitals provide primary and secondary care services.

Type C hospitals provide primary care services and basic secondary care services.

Health Centre Classification

Type 5 – These are comprehensive health centers and are located only in urban areas.

Type 4 – This health centre administers the health programme of the parish and accommodates the medical officer of health and parish staff.

Type 3: This is the headquarters of the Health District and may serve a population of 20,000 people through a number of types 1 and 2 health centers.

Type 2- This health centre provides a higher level of expertise than a Type 1 facility and is equipped with a resident staff nurse who is able to provide simple treatment for common illnesses.

Type 1: These are the smallest units that provide services that are closely integrated to the community. It is staffed by one midwife and a community health aide who deliver basic maternal and child health, nutrition, family planning and immunization services.

Map Showing the Health Network of the Regional Health Authority.

Regional Map